“What if we reinvent given norms?” This was the key question at the first Open Table.

Munich, 27 November 2021
First Open Table round in Munich

Oliver Jahn, Andreas Kühnlein (both from Magazin AD), Mike Meiré, Philipp Züllich (both from Meiré & Meiré), Johann Landersdorfer, Robert Innerhofer (both proprietors of the Landersdorfer & Innerhofer restaurant), Guido Walter (wine expert, philosopher and proprietor of Walter & Sohn wine store) as well as the collective and employees of J*GAST met at a big kitchen table in Munich. The evening kicked off a series of events in which alternating guests discuss central questions about cuisine and food culture in the 21st century.

J*GAST combines artisanal tradition with state-of-the-art production technologies.

“Today, products are often produced according to standards and norms from the last century. At J*GAST, we have fundamentally questioned this.” (Tobias Petri)

So long, standard sizes: the participants in the Open Table discussed what it means to break away from traditional ideas of kitchen furniture construction. What does it mean to say goodbye to the idea of classic carcass furniture, and what freedoms arise from this? At J*GAST, kitchens are designed – under this paradigm shift – as systematically as they are individually.

“What fascinates me about the J*GAST brand is that it has no history. It has no legacy which needs to be confronted. This is liberating.” (Mike Meiré)

J*GAST has the will to break with the continuity of what has been established. This results in a historic opportunity, which also brings all-embracing aspects of sustainability into focus.

“J*GAST stands for a holistic approach: the kitchen as a living space. As the centre of life. It’s not just about the kitchen as an architectural space, but rather also about what and how we eat.” (Christian Brandes)

Advertising for kitchens often shows mere backdrops. And the guests at the Open Table were unanimous on this point: this has nothing to do with kitchens and cooking. Kitchens need an open and lively concept. They should be aligned towards people’s lives. And not the other way round.

PS:
The Open Table format will be continued with interesting discussions on a meta-level of the kitchen – watch this space!

„What if we reinvent given norms?“ – das war die zentrale Frage beim ersten Open Table.

München 27.11.2021
Auftakt der Open-Table-Runde in München

Oliver Jahn, Andreas Kühnlein (beide vom Magazin AD), Mike Meiré, Philipp Züllich (beide Meiré & Meiré), Johann Landersdorfer, Robert Innerhofer (beide Betreiber des Restaurants Landersdorfer & Innerhofer), Guido Walter (Weinakademiker, Philosoph und Betreiber der Weinhandlung Walter & Sohn) sowie Kollektiv und Mitarbeiter von J*GAST hatten sich in München am großen Küchentisch getroffen. Der Abend war der Auftakt für eine Veranstaltungsreihe, bei der wechselnde Gäste zentrale Fragen rund um Küche und Esskultur im 21. Jahrhundert diskutieren.

J*GAST vereint handwerkliche Tradition mit State-of-the-Art-Produktions­technologien der heutigen Zeit.

„Heute werden Produkte oftmals nach Standards und Normen aus dem letzten Jahrhundert produziert. Wir bei J*GAST haben dies grundsätzlich hinterfragt.“ (Tobias Petri)

Bye bye Standardmaß! Was es bedeutet, sich von tradierten Vorstellungen des Küchenmöbelbaus zu lösen, erörterten die Teilnehmer*innen des Open Table. Was heißt es, sich vom Konzept des klassischen Korpusmöbels zu verabschieden, und welche Freiheiten erwachsen daraus? Bei J*GAST werden Küchen – unter diesem Paradigmenwechsel – ebenso systematisch wie individuell gestaltet.

„Was mich an der Marke J*GAST fasziniert: Sie hat keine Historie. Sie bringt kein Erbe mit, mit dem man sich auseinandersetzen muss. Das befreit." (Mike Meiré)

J*GAST ist gewillt, mit der Kontinuität des Etablierten zu brechen. Daraus ergibt sich eine historische Chance, die auch umfassende Aspekte der Nachhaltigkeit in den Fokus rückt.

„J*GAST steht für eine holistische Betrachtung: die Küche als Lebensraum. Als Lebensmittelpunkt. Es geht nicht nur um die Küche als architektonischen Raum, sondern vielmehr auch um das, was und wie wir essen.“ (Christian Brandes)

Werbung für Küchen zeigt oftmals reine Kulissen. Und darin waren sich die Gäste des Open Table einig: Das hat nichts mit Küche und Kochen zu tun. Küchen brauchen eine offene, lebendige Konzeption. Sie sollte sich nach dem Leben der Menschen richten. Und nicht umgekehrt.

PS:
Das Format Open Table findet seine Fortsetzung mit interessanten Auseinandersetzungen auf einer Meta-Ebene der Küche – seid gespannt.